Friday, March 27, 2015

What a Lady Requires Book Tour: Review + Excerpt + Giveaway! @readloveswept @ashlyn_mac

Click on the banner for the tour schedule.
Welcome to my post for the What a Lady Requires book tour! I have a review coming up, as well as an excerpt and a giveaway for a $25 gift card and a Loveswept mug and nail polish. But, first, allow me to introduce the book:

What a Lady Requires
Release date: April 1, 2015
Publisher: Loveswept
Genre: Historical (Regency) Romance
Series: The Eton Boys Trilogy #3


Perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries, Ashlyn Macnamara’s blazing hot novel tells the story of mismatched newlyweds who discover a simmering connection.

Unlike every other proper young lady, Miss Emma Jennings views marrying well as little more than a means to an end. Such a merger would provide her industrious father with social credibility, and Emma with a chunk of her vast inheritance. Emma’s practical views are shattered, however, when her father ties her to the fabulously handsome ne’er-do-well Rowan Battencliffe, a man she loathes on sight—from the smile that promises all manner of wickedness to the way he ogles her with those striking blue eyes.

Deep in debt, especially to his wine merchant, Rowan figures the sooner he gets his finances in order, the sooner he can go back to doing what he does best: burning through ridiculous sums of cash. Which is why Rowan agrees to marry the merchant’s daughter, a prim and proper woman with delightful curves and an ample dowry. But Emma seems to think it’s her business to reform him! Their marriage is a tinderbox—and it’s just too tempting to resist playing with fire.



My Rating: 3 Roses

I enjoyed What a Lady Requires. It was a lovely romance that featured the redemption of a character who was at his all time low at the start of the book and I liked it.

Emma was definitely a very intelligent heroine. That was a good thing for the most part but I didn't appreciate how she almost berated Rowan for not grasping how to do the accounts. It made her seem like a mean intellectual snob. But, that was only a minor part of her character. For the most part, she was clever, resilient, and ultimately a likable character.

Rowan was great. He started off the book as low as he could get, without a penny to his name. But as the book went on, he really tried to prove that he could do better and eventually found a way to absolve himself of the event that led to his decline in fortunes. I really liked him and I thought he was adorable.

The romance was okay. On one hand, I did think that Emma and Rowan were good together. On the other, I really wanted to see more of the actual development of their relationship, particularly of them really fighting to make their marriage work. As it was, we got a few scenes of them growing their relationship then, when a single thing went wrong, one of them ran away and the other pouted. They didn't even really try to work it out. I found that disappointing and it brought down my enjoyment of the book. But, as a couple, I thought Emma and Rowan were sweet.

The plot was steadily paced, not necessarily keeping me hooked, but definitely keeping my interest all the way through. I liked the story and I thought the ending was great.

What a Lady Requires was a nice historical romance. While it had its flaws, I still enjoyed it overall. Romance lovers, you might want to check this book out.

*I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review
_____________________________________________________________
Excerpt:

Uriana raised her brows. “Another caller?”

Emma readjusted her spectacles. “Perhaps it’s Mr. Crawley this time.” After all, there was just as much evidence of Mr. Crawley’s interest in Uriana as there was for Emma’s impending nuptials.

Aunt Augusta took up her station at the door once again. “Hush.”

But the order was hardly necessary. Whoever was at the door greeted the butler in an overly loud voice. “I’m here to see Mr. Jennings. Or more accurately, my brother called me here to see Mr. Jennings, if you catch my meaning. But of course you wouldn’t. I can barely catch my own meaning.”

Loud. Overly jovial. All that was missing was a slap on Grundy’s back, a slap that the ensuing booming silence refused to reveal. Such a slap would surely have echoed through the corridor, for the person who stood on the threshold could be nothing but in his cups.

As if to confirm Emma’s suspicion, Aunt Augusta glanced at the gilt ormolu clock on the mantelpiece. “Not even five,” she muttered.

“If you’ll step this way.” Grundy’s voice carried as far as the sitting room.

“And which way is that? I can adapt any manner of silly walk you like as long as it’s not ridiculously complicated.” The newcomer laughed at his own joke, a mirthless bark that bounced off the narrow walls of the passageway. “I’ve had as much as is good for me already. You can’t ask too much now.”

“Please, sir.”

“No need. I know my way. Right familiar with this place, I am.” That overly loud voice was coming closer. Drunk or not, it was low-pitched and somehow melodious all the same.

“If you don’t mind, Mr. Jennings’s study is this way.”

“Ah, and here I thought I was meant to pay my respects in the morning room.” The owner of that voice appeared on the threshold. “Never let it be said I missed an opportunity to greet the ladies. And here they all are.”

He stood tall enough that the beaver hat he’d tucked beneath his arm would have brushed the top of the door frame. That is, if he hadn’t already crushed the poor unsuspecting piece of headgear. His shoulders seemed to span the width from jamb to jamb.

But it was his face that made Emma catch her breath. She’d never seen it with such clarity, but then her aunt insisted she leave her spectacles behind whenever she went out in society.

The suspiciously red tinge on his straight blade of a nose did nothing to mar his looks. Classically handsome, with a mop of elegantly styled blond hair and striking blue eyes, like chips of sapphire. A set of side-whiskers extended toward his jaw, highlighting a pair of chiseled cheekbones. His lips stretched into a smile that somehow promised all manner of wickedness, so much that Uriana completely forgot her manners and let out a girlish titter.

“Ladies.” He swept into a bow that wouldn’t have been out of place in the royal palace, but for the way he wavered on the way back up. “You can never miss the chance to greet too many ladies.”
_____________________________________________________________
Giveaway:
Up for grabs is a $25 gift card and a Loveswept mug and nail polish.
Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author:
Ashlyn Macnamara is the author of What a Lady Craves, A Most Devilish Rogue, and A Most Scandalous Proposal. She lives in the wilds of suburbia outside of Montreal with her husband and two teenage daughters. When not writing, she looks for other excuses to neglect the housework, among them knitting, reading, and wasting time on the Internet in the guise of doing research.


1 comment: