Tuesday, February 17, 2015

A Sinful Deception by Isabella Bradford Review @2nerdyhistgirls @RomanceatRandom

A Sinful Deception (Breconridge Brothers, #2)
Release date: February 24, 2015
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Genre: Historical (Georgian) Romance
Series: Breconridge Brothers #2


For fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries: the seductively charming second historical romance in Isabella Bradford's Breconridge Brothers trilogy.

Lord Geoffrey Fitzroy leads a charmed existence. As the second son of the Duke of Breconridge, he has none of the responsibilities of his older brother and all of the advantages, leaving handsome Geoffrey free to enjoy his rakish pursuits. And pursue them he does, leaving hearts fluttering all over London. But one night, at a ball teeming with high society's most sought-after beauties, only one truly intrigues him: the regal, aloof, and mysterious Miss Serena Palmer.

Magnificently dressed and wearing jewels befitting a queen, the lady is considered the prize of the season, a noble-born heiress raised in India. But even as Geoffrey's fascination grows, Serena deftly deflects his curiosity—and with good reason: Serena's exotic past contains a perilous secret that could destroy her. Yet her plan to live in safe solitude is thwarted by her hungry heart, and soon Geoffrey's passionate seduction finds her blissfully bed—and wed. Will her deception destroy her chance at happiness as Geoffrey's wife? Or will the devotion of her new husband reveal the only truth worth embracing: her undying love?



My Rating: 4 Roses

A Sinful Deception was a delightful and truly enjoyable historical romance. Romantic, emotional, with a few secrets in store, this book was wonderful and I really liked it.

Serena was an interesting heroine. She had secrets in her past that kept her distant from everyone in her life, but she was also likable and clever enough to know when she found something worth fighting for. My only issue was how much stock she put in her secrets. She was so convinced that they would ruin everything that she never gave Geoffrey a chance to decide for himself. It wasn't a major issue, but it was a little annoying. Otherwise, I thought she was great.

Geoffrey was simply adorable. He was so sweet, kind, and just and overall wonderful character. He had a reputation for being a carefree rake but, despite what other people thought of him, he was much more than that. I thought he was perfect.

The romance was lovely. Serena and Geoffrey were perfect together. They were infatuated with each other when they first met and their feelings only deepened as the book went on. No matter what happened, their feelings for each other were never in doubt and they were obviously devoted to each other. Not to mention the chemistry they had between each other. I thought they were a perfect couple.

The plot was well paced and, though a little slow in places, I was still kept interested the entire way through. I really liked the story and the ending was perfect.

Sweet and enjoyable, A Sinful Deception was a wonderful read and I really liked it. Romance lovers, this is definitely a book worth checking out.

*I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

No comments:

Post a Comment