Saturday, August 9, 2014

What a Lady Craves by Ashlyn Macnamara

Welcome to my post for the What a Lady Craves book tour! I have a review coming up, as well as a giveaway for a $25 gift card and a Loveswept mug and tote. But, first, allow me to introduce the book:

What a Lady Craves
Release date: August 12, 2014
Publisher: Loveswept
Genre: Historical (Regency) Romance
Series: The Eton Boys Trilogy #1

Ashlyn Macnamara weaves a delicious tale of two souls torn apart by circumstance and reunited by fate—perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries.

Henrietta Upperton is about to marry Alexander Sanford, when he rushes off to India to salvage his family’s fortune. Then comes the devastating news that he has wed another. Eight agonizing years later, a storm washes Alexander ashore—injured, widowed, and hunted—and one glimpse of his ruggedly handsome face reawakens the desire Henrietta thought she had buried deep inside. Her body still yearns for his touch, but she’s determined not let him wound her again . . . not this time.

For Alexander, honor always comes first. But only now does he realize that when given the choice between two virtuous deeds, he picked the wrong one. On the run with his life in tatters and a pair of daughters in tow, Alexander burns for Henrietta. He knows he does not deserve forgiveness. And yet he longs to wrap his arms around her warm body once again. What’s more, he is sure the lady craves the same.



My Rating: 4 Roses

A lovely story and a second chance at love, What a Lady Craves was a wonderful historical romance. This book was great and I really liked it. It was definitely an enjoyable read.

Henrietta was a wonderful heroine. She was strong in a way that was earned through heartache and determined not to go through it again. After her broken engagement turned her life upside down, she was determined to pull herself together and find a way to be independent. I really liked her. She was tough and not about to take crap from anyone, including Alexander. I thought she was lovely.

Alexander was good. He was sweet, both with his daughters and with Henrietta, and he was extremely honorable and would follow his code of honor no matter what. However, I had a couple of issue with him. 1) Though honor was one of his assets, it was also one of his faults when he let his sense of honor constrict him until he nearly lost the love of his life. 2) It bothered me how he consciously favored his younger daughter over his elder for something that wasn't her fault. For such an honorable man, it didn't match him and I would have liked to see him trying harder to fix it. Both of these things kept me from really liking him, but neither did they make him a terrible character. I still thought he was nice and I was okay with him.

The romance was lovely. Despite my issues with Alexander, I liked that a couple that was so obviously perfect for each other had a second chance to get it right and be together. The sexual tension between these two was way up high and it led to some serious heat. I thought they were a sweet couple.

The plot was well paced and I was hooked the entire way through. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was lovely. There were a few secrets that were hinted at, but not revealed, about the secondary characters in this book and I'm curious to see the truth about them in the next books in the series.

What a Lady Craves was a lovely historical romance. It was a sweet, enjoyable read and I really liked it. Romance lovers, this is a book worth checking out.

*I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review
____________________________________________________________
Giveaway:
Up for grabs is a $25 gift card and a Loveswept mug and tote.
Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author:
Ashlyn Macnamara
Ashlyn Macnamara is the author of A Most Scandalous Proposal. She lives in the wilds of suburbia outside of Montreal with her husband and two teenage daughters. When not writing, she looks for other excuses to neglect the housework, among them knitting, reading, and wasting time on the Internet in the guise of doing research.

Connect with Ashlyn

Connect with Loveswept 

No comments:

Post a Comment