Friday, August 15, 2014

A Highlander's Obsession Book Tour: Review + Excerpt + Giveaway!

Aug 11th - Aug 29th
Click on the banner for the full schedule.
Welcome to my post for the A Highlander's Obsession book tour! I have a review coming up, as well as an excerpt and a giveaway for a $25 gift card and a Loveswept mug and tote. But, first, allow me to introduce the book:

Release date: August 19, 2014
Publisher: Loveswept
Genre: Paranormal Romance

In the vein of Jennifer Ashley’s Shifters Unbound series and Shelly Laurenston’s Pride Stories, Vonnie Davis introduces two wandering souls who discover that true love needs no words in this explosive, fantastical novel.

Two wandering souls discover that true love needs no words in this explosive, fantastical novel from Vonnie Davis.

Somehow able to telepathically communicate with animals, Paisley Munro has found meaning in her so-called gifts by working as a veterinary assistant. But while traveling to Scotland for a relative’s funeral, Paisley fears that she really has lost her mind. Out in the highlands, she hears distinctly human thoughts coming from a wild bear. Terrified and desperate, she returns to the lodge and collapses in the powerful arms of its owner, a mysterious man with whom she shares a simmering attraction.

Creighton Matheson and his fellow shape-shifters have been roaming this land freely for centuries. Now Paisley may inherit his home, putting his kind in grave danger. His mistrust only deepens when he realizes she can read his mind. Yet he cannot deny that this tantalizing woman makes him burn with desire—and hunger for the prospect of a tender love. Now Creighton must decide which would hurt more: revealing the truth or losing Paisley forever.



My Rating: 3 Roses

Full of magic and romance, A Highlander's Obsession was a lovely read. I liked this book. It was an enjoyable romance.

Paisley was a good heroine. She started out as a hesitant character whose issues with rejection made her a doormat with her idiotic fiance. But, as the book went on, she grew more confident and became a much better character. My only real complaint about her was that her trust issues made her a bit frustrating, with her tendency to either run away or assume the worst. Otherwise, I liked her.

Creighton was also great. He was very loyal and protective of those he cared about, be it the people in his clan, or the woman he loved. However, he had an unfortunate tendency to bluster, where he would yell a lot but not actually say anything. It made me want to sit him down and explain how communication works. But, he could be sweet when he wanted to be and he was an overall likable hero.

The romance was lovely. A bit frustrating with Paisley's fight or flight response to a relationship and Creighton's need to learn how to talk instead of command, but overall, I thought they were good together. They both simply accepted each other as they were and they definitely had chemistry.

The plot was well paced and I was kept interested, though not totally hooked, the entire way through. I enjoyed the story and the ending was lovely.

A Highlander's Obsession was a wonderful read that I quite enjoyed. With the delightful mix of magic and romance, this book was great. It wasn't perfect, but I still liked it. Romance lovers, you might want to check this book out.

*I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review
_________________________________________________________________
Excerpt:

After Gram went to bed, Paisley set the tray in the hallway, put another log on the fire, and went into her bedroom. She stepped to the window and pushed back heavy ivory drapes.

The wind screeched like banshees. Pines bent in reply. Her hand flew to her mouth to cover her gasp. Below stood a gigantic bear, staring at her with blazing golden eyes.

Ye shouldna have come, me bonnie lass. How will I ever keep me hands off ye?

Fear did a freefall through her system. Oh my God. Ronan was wrong; bears weren’t extinct here. She turned and bolted from the room.

Creighton read horror in her expression the moment her eyes landed on him. Damn, he shouldna stationed himself below her window, but he wanted to make sure the lass settled in peacefully for the night before he searched the area for wolves that had been killing his clan’s sheep. Not that this guest was any more special than any of the others. He saw to the safety and comfort of all the visitors at Matheson Lodge.

Now he’d have to hasten to her and allay her fears. He hurried behind the pines, where he’d laid his clothes after shifting earlier, and concentrated on morphing from one form of existence to another. A shimmer of transposing cosmic waves, a whirlwind of mind and soul continuum and he transmuted from bear back to human shape. Creighton gasped, forcing his human lungs to accept oxygen, and winced as systems within began functioning. Although the mutation took less than a minute, a time of discomfort existed with the acute awareness of his newly acquired being.
_________________________________________________________________
Giveaway:
Up for grabs is a $25 gift card and a Loveswept mug and tote.
Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author:

Vonnie Davis, who studied English at Penn State, likens herself to a croissant: crusty, wrinkled, flaky—and best served with strong coffee. After a career as a technical writer, she’s spending her retirement playing fairy godmother to her characters, giving them their happily-ever-afters. Six fantastic, talented kids call her “Grandma” and brighten her world in so many ways. She lives in Southern Virginia with her husband, author Calvin Davis.


2 comments:

  1. Farrah, thank you for taking the time to read and review A HIGHLANDER'S OBSESSION. Your remarks were very much appreciated; I had a lot of fun writing this story. Thanks again and all my best.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you for hosting today!

    ReplyDelete