Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Dark Metropolis Book Tour: Guest Post + Giveaway!

Click on the banner for the full schedule.
Welcome to my post for the Dark Metropolis book tour! I have a guest post from the author coming up, as well as a giveaway for a hardcover copy of Dark Metropolis. But, first, allow me to introduce the book:

Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis, #1)
Release date: June 17, 2014
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Genre: YA Historical/Paranormal
Series: Dark Metropolis #1

Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.


Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.


_________________________________________________________________
Guest Post:

I've been a fan of fantasy novels since I was a kid, but I used to wonder--why were they always set in that same generic Medieval England setting? (Nowadays, there is more variety, but this is a fairly recent development.) I was always into history and everything I read got me thinking about what ifs. What would a fantasy world look like based on 1950s America or pre-Revolution France or Imperial China? While, at the same time, not quite being those places, the same way traditional fantasy is reminiscent of Medieval Europe but usually doesn't have a King Henry in sight.

I let my interests steer me to stories. The Victorian era was always my first love, so my first novel, Magic Under Glass, was set in a Victorian-ish world with corsets and carriages and an automaton with the spirit of a fairy prince trapped inside. For my second novel, Between the Sea and Sky, I was still playing with the romantic 19th century but it takes place in, basically, the year 1800 in a seaside town inspired by Italy and France. The main character is a mermaid and I thought she'd like to live someplace with sunny seas! Dark Metropolis is inspired by another favorite era of mine--1920s Europe, and I do believe I had more fun researching that book than anything. The jazz age clubs, the fashions, and most of all, the personalities--it seems like people let loose in the 1920s in a major way, and the era was full of eccentrics, bold modern women and gender experimentation.

The fun thing about writing a fantasy novel inspired by the past is that you can pick and choose the most interesting things about an era and twist them any way you want. Sometimes it feels like having a conversation with the past--taking a big stew of elements and asking, "Okay, what really mattered here? What made this time period what it was? How did it feel to live in this place, in this time, to have it all be fresh and new?" In an ideal book, I think fantasy can capture a mood in time almost better than straight historical fiction because the fantasy author can put a fresh twist so it's all happening for the very first time to the reader. You might think you're in 1920s Berlin, but what happens next? Just like the characters, you can't look in a history book to find out.

(Though I still encourage everyone to look in a history book, too. Fascinating stuff!)
_________________________________________________________________
Giveaway:
Up for grabs is a hardcover copy of Dark Metropolis. US only.
Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author:
Jaclyn Dolamore was homeschooled in a hippie sort of way and spent her childhood reading as many books as her skinny nerd-body could lug from the library and playing elaborate pretend games with her sister Kate. She skipped college and spent eight years drudging through retail jobs, developing her thrifty cooking skills and pursuing a lifelong writing dream. She has a passion for history, thrift stores, vintage dresses, David Bowie, drawing, and organic food. She lives with her partner and plot-sounding-board, Dade, and two black tabbies who have ruined her carpeting.


1 comment:

  1. Cool guest post! Thanks for participating!

    ReplyDelete