Thursday, December 12, 2013

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited (Uninvited, #1)
Release date: January 28, 2014
Publisher: Harper Teen
Genre: YA Dystopia Romance
Series: Uninvited #1

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.


My Rating: 5 Roses

Love it, love it, LOVE IT! Uninvited was an absolutely amazing YA read. It thrilling, romantic, and downright chilling. "Love it" doesn't even begin to describe how much I utterly adored this book.

I'm in awe of this author. Apparently, Sophie Jordan can write anything and get it right. I've read her adult romance books, and loved them. I've read her recent New Adult book and loved it. I know she has another YA series, but this is the first YA book I read from her and I loved it. I have to say, that's pretty impressive.
But, let's move on to the actually story, now :)

The world building for this book was excellent. So much so, that I could imagine the possibility of this future. In this version of the future, scientists have found a gene that is more prevalent in murderers. They called it HTS (Homicidal Tendency Syndrome), or kill gene as it is more casually referred to. As more and more mass killings happen, the government starts to separate those with the gene away from society, in an attempt to lock up the danger. There were absolutely no holes in this world building. It was completely thought out and eerily plausible. Especially when one of the characters, a vicious and cruel psychopath, was the exact proof for why the HTS thing would be useful. But, not all cases are the same. It was definitely a dilemma to think about and it was brilliantly done.

Davy's life is absolutely ruined when her test for HTS. Her friends want nothing to do with her, her boyfriend abandons her, and her parents no longer see her as their daughter. She is taken out of society and treated like a pariah. Only her brother continues to stand by her. Now, the previously well liked and girl with a bright future ahead of her has to learn to be a social outcast. I really liked Davy. She was a strong character. She learned how to deal with her new reality and became a force to be reckoned with. I thought she was wonderful.

Sean was also great. He was complicated. He had already been an outcast as a child raised in the foster care system, so the knowledge that he was also an HTS carrier came about, his life was still just as bad as it was before. But, having lived in that existence for so long, he was somewhat cold and unwilling to trust anyone. But, he was still a truly good person at heart, though no one would believe that of him. He was protective of those who can't care for themselves and very sweet when he wanted to be. I adored him. He was a perfectly flawed hero.

The romance was wonderful. It built slowly, as both Davy and Sean learned to be able to trust each other. They were so sweet together. I'm anxious to see how things turn out for them in the next book.

I liked that the secondary characters were more than just props in this book. They all played big roles and were complete characters on their own, particularly Gil and Sabine. Even one character, another HTS carrier, who was completely insane was a wonderfully dynamic and perfectly hateful character.

The plot was fast paced. I was hooked the entire way through. There were tons of surprises along the way, not to mention the secrets involved in the whole HTS scheme. I really enjoyed the story and the ending has me itching to get my hands on the sequel. Can't wait to read that one!

Uninvited was a brilliant YA dystopian romance. I loved everything about it, from the romance, to the thrills, to the many secrets. It was all perfect. Anyone and everyone should read this amazing book.

 photo 2_zps3b4250b0.jpg

*I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review


No comments:

Post a Comment