Wednesday, August 21, 2013

Hover by Melissa West + Featured Freebie

Hover (The Taking, #2)
Release date: August 13, 2013
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Genre: YA Dystopia/Post-Apocalyptic Romance
Series: The Taking #2


On Earth, seventeen-year-old Ari Alexander was taught to never peek, but if she hopes to survive life on her new planet, Loge, her eyes must never shut. Because Zeus will do anything to save the Ancients from their dying planet, and he has a plan. 

Thousands of humans crossed over to Loge after a poisonous neurotoxin released into Earth's atmosphere, nearly killing them. They sought refuge in hopes of finding a new life, but what they became were slaves, built to wage war against their home planet. That is, unless Ari and Jackson can stop them. But on Loge, nothing is as it seems...and no one can be trusted.



My Rating: 5 Roses

Wow. So much happened in this book that I'm still trying to process it all. I loved this book! Hover took all the thrills, romance, and surprises that made Gravity such an awesome read and did it ten times better. If you liked Gravity, you are going to absolutely loved this book.

Ari becomes much stronger in this book. Though she faced, and took down, huge odds in book 1, she would also back down sometimes. In this book, that wasn't going to happen. Whether she wanted it or not, she was in the middle of it all and she refused to be kept in ignorance. And, when something needed to be done, she wasn't afraid to put her life on the line. She was one kick-ass heroine. I liked her even more than I already did in this book.

We get to know Jackson a lot more in this book. In his home planet, he's in his element and also in the middle of all the ghosts that haunt him. In book 1, we see him as a charming, strong,  clever, and determined spy turned rebel. In this book, we see him a leader who commands respect as the future ruler and a boy who has yet to overcome his past. That made me both respect and sympathize with his character more. Respect, because there wasn't any doubt that he was a true leader. Sympathize, because his past wasn't pretty and the way his grandfather treats him is horrendous. He becomes a much deeper character. And, of course, he was still unbearably sweet and utterly swoon-worthy. He was absolutely wonderful in this book and I adored him.

The romance deepened in this book. It turned from deep affection and infatuation into real and obvious love. With Ari and Jackson having to face life threatening danger and planning a coupe together, they obviously get much closer. It was definitely sweet seeing them together. And I thought it was adorable how each would feel their troubles lessen when they were together. They were just a brilliant couple and I can't wait to see how things go for them in the next book.

We see different sides of all the characters in this book, not just the main couple. The game had changed and all the characters had to change to stay in it. I enjoyed seeing the new depth to all the characters.

The plot went at breakneck speed and it was a roller coaster. There were twists and turns and I never knew what to expect. Secrets, surprises, thrills. It all had me riveted and completely on the edge of my seat. And it. Was. Awesome. That ending...I kind of wanted to throw my Kindle across the room. I mean, holy cliffhanger! I kept trying to turn the page in the vain hope that there was more, but no. Oh my goodness did it make my jaw drop and have me already anxious for the next book. Please let it come out soon because I don't know if I can physically handle the suspense of dying to know what happens next!

Hover was absolutely amazing! If book 1 was good, than this book was out of this world (pun intended). It was a keep-you-on-the-edge-of-your-seat amazingly awesome book that had thrills, romance, surprises, and one hell of an ending. Fans of Gravity, I have no doubt that you will love this book. And, for those who haven't yet started the series, you definitely need to get on that because it's totally epic.

*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review
_________________________________________________________________
Featured Freebie:
Today, I have a historical romance that sounds interesting: Something About Her by Jeannie Ruesch. Go forth and get it for free!

He is the one man she knows she shouldn't trust.

Michael Ashton, the Duke of Ravensdale, is caught in two scandals, neither of which is his own doing. The first involves a woman (don't they always), and the second...well, it also involves a woman and a large sum of stolen money. To clear his family name, Michael must track down his charlatan cousin... the same cousin believed to be dead.

She is the one woman he knows he can't have.
Blythe Willoughby Ashton has been married for a year, but hasn't been a wife for even a day. When she learns of her husband's death, she just wants to be left alone. Then her husband's cousin shows up uninvited on her doorstep, looking more handsome than any man should. Falling in love is the last thing she should do, especially when it becomes obvious that the secrets he's keeping could threaten not only her happiness, but her life.



No comments:

Post a Comment